Nobody`s Perfect!

Or also: 
All beginnings are difficult  and no one is born a master.
At this point, I would like to tell a little anecdote from my beginnings in crocheting.
The following picture shows one of my first attempts to crochet (~ 3 years ago):
IMG_2250a copy
Although I wondered why the result was looking different from the pattern in the book, I was so proud of me, because I thought:
“I`ve done it! I`ve crocheted a bicolored fish!”
 
Next picture shows the difference between this my first fish and a correct crochet fish I made later:
IMG_2256 copy
There were more fishes I made like this first one, but they don`t exist anymore – because I needed the wooden eyes.
 
So, what went wrong?
One year after I had started to crochet, my mother happened to see how I crocheted. And she was flabbergasted!
Well, for a full year I confused  “slip stitch”  with “single crochet”.
No wonder that my attempts always looked differently…

 

About Clarissa

Clarissa Ink Arts & Inkor Pank (by Clarissa Pohl) - Shirt-Label "Inkor Pank" - Ink Illustrations: Science and Fantasy - Paleo Arts and Illustrations - Dinosaurs and more I`m a small-scale entrepreneur, writer and illustrator (mostly Dinosaurs and Paleo Arts - it`s my precious, because I studied Geology and Paleontology). In my blog I show my works (or parts of it), my hobbies (Amigurumi and Crochet) and other things/pictures I`m interested in: Nature, Animals, Arts et cetera p.p.. Be invited!
This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nobody`s Perfect!

  1. Fadenzauberei says:

    😀 😀 😀
    Mistakes must be. Learning by doing – in german language we say:” Kein Meister ist vom Himmel gefallen!”
    LG Und einen schönen Abend
    Anke

  2. Shana Rae says:

    When I first started, I didn’t realise there was a difference between UK and American terminology, so I was always doing a dc when it should have been and sc, and vice versa, and wondering why nothing looked right!

Leave a Reply

